Candidate Filings
 
2017 Municipal and School District Elections

Candidates for offices elected at the November 7, 2017 Municipal and School District General Elections
can be found using this candidate finder.

Candidate names are added during or after the filing period for the office:
 
Offices in municipalities and school districts that hold primaries - Tuesday, May 16 through Tuesday, May 30
Other municipal and school district offices - Tuesday, August 1 through Tuesday, August 15
 
 
Contact your local clerk for the correct filing period for your city or school district.
 
Home
Candidates Search Results
Minneapolis
Mayor (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Troy Benjegerdes Farmer Labor mayortroy.com
8/11/2017
Raymond Dehn Democratic-Farmer-Labor raymonddehn.com
8/14/2017
Al Flowers Democratic-Farmer-Labor truthtothepeople.com
8/14/2017
Jacob Frey Democratic-Farmer-Labor jacobfrey.org
8/10/2017
Charlie Gers Libertarian Party
8/9/2017
Tom Hoch Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.TomforMinneapolis.com
8/14/2017
Betsy Hodges Democratic-Farmer-Labor
8/3/2017
Gregg A. Iverson Democratic-Farmer-Labor
8/2/2017
Nekima Levy-Pounds Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.minneapolisfornekima.com
8/15/2017
Ronald Lischeid People Over Politics WWW.RON4MAYORMPLS.ORG
8/15/2017
L.A. Nik Independent mayorofminneapolis.com
8/15/2017
Aswar Rahman Democratic-Farmer-Labor voteaswar.com
8/15/2017
David Rosenfeld Socialist Workers Party www.themilitant.com
8/11/2017
Ian Simpson The Idea Party ian4mayor.com
8/15/2017
Captain Jack Sparrow Basic Income Guarantee occupirate.blogspot.com
8/1/2017
David John Wilson Rainbows Butterflies Unicorns http://www.daveunicorn.com
8/14/2017
 
 
Council Member Ward 1 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
John Hayden Independent
8/1/2017
Jillia Pessenda Democratic-Farmer-Labor jilliaforwardone.com
8/14/2017
Kevin Reich Democratic-Farmer-Labor kevinreich.org
8/10/2017
 
 
Council Member Ward 2 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Cam Gordon Green Party www.camgordon.org
8/11/2017
 
 
Council Member Ward 3 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Tim Bildsoe Democratic-Farmer-Labor
8/11/2017
Steve Fletcher Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.stevefletcher.org
8/14/2017
Ginger Jentzen Socialist Alternative www.gingerjentzen.org
8/10/2017
Samantha Pree-Stinson Green Party Endorsed preefor3.com
8/1/2017
 
 
Council Member Ward 4 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Phillipe M. Cunningham Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.cunninghammpls.org
8/11/2017
Stephanie Gasca Democratic-Farmer-Labor
8/14/2017
Dana Hansen Libertarian Party
8/14/2017
Barbara A. "Barb" Johnson Democratic-Farmer-Labor barbjohnson.org
8/10/2017
 
 
Council Member Ward 5 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Jeremiah Ellison Democratic-Farmer-Labor jeremiahforward5.com
8/15/2017
Cathy Spann Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.cathyspannforward5.com
8/14/2017
Raeisha (RA) Williams Democratic Party www.raeishawilliams.com
8/2/2017
Blong Yang Democratic-Farmer-Labor yangfor5.com
8/14/2017
 
 
Council Member Ward 6 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Mohamud Noor Democratic-Farmer-Labor votenoor.com
8/1/2017
Abdi Warsame Democratic-Farmer-Labor votewarsame.com
8/10/2017
Fadumo Yusuf Republican
8/14/2017
 
 
Council Member Ward 7 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Janne Flisrand Democratic-Farmer-Labor janneformpls.org
8/10/2017
Lisa Goodman Democratic-Farmer-Labor friendsforlisa.com
8/15/2017
Joe Kovacs Republican
8/4/2017
Teqen Zéa-Aida Democratic-Farmer-Labor Teqenformpls.com
8/10/2017
 
 
Council Member Ward 8 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
David Holsinger Libertarian Party
8/4/2017
Andrea Jenkins Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.andreajenkinsforward8.org
8/15/2017
April Kane Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.facebook.com/erinslawmn
8/12/2017
Terry White Green Party terryforward8.org
8/1/2017
 
 
Council Member Ward 9 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Alondra Cano Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.alondracano.org
8/8/2017
Mohamed Farah Democratic-Farmer-Labor votefarah.com
8/14/2017
Ronald W. Peterson Republican
8/4/2017
Gary Schiff Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.garyschiff.org
8/1/2017
 
 
Council Member Ward 10 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Lisa Bender Democratic-Farmer-Labor
8/4/2017
Bruce Lundeen Republican www.bruceforcitycouncil.com
8/8/2017
Saralyn Romanishan Democratic-Farmer-Labor saralynforward10.com
8/9/2017
David Schorn Democratic-Farmer-Labor Schorn410.com
8/8/2017
 
 
Council Member Ward 11 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Erica Mauter Democratic-Farmer-Labor http://www.ericamauter.org
8/14/2017
John Quincy Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.JohnMQuincy.org
8/9/2017
Jeremy Schroeder Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.jeremyschroeder.org
8/7/2017
 
 
Council Member Ward 12 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Harrison Bullard Independent Health Labor bullard4ward12.com
8/15/2017
Will Jaeger Independent WillJaeger.com
8/7/2017
Andrew Johnson Democratic-Farmer-Labor AndrewMPLS.com
8/1/2017
 
 
Council Member Ward 13 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Linea Palmisano Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.lineapalmisano.org
8/1/2017
Bob Reuer Independent
8/8/2017
 
 
Board of Estimate and Taxation (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Carol Becker Nonpartisan
8/1/2017
David B. Wheeler Nonpartisan
8/1/2017
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner at Large (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Charlie Casserly Nonpartisan charliecasserly.com
8/15/2017
Mike Derus Nonpartisan www.derusforparks.com
8/7/2017
Meg Forney Nonpartisan megforney.org
8/14/2017
Londel French Nonpartisan londelfrenchforparks.com
8/7/2017
Russ Henry Nonpartisan RussHenryForParks.com
8/7/2017
Devin Hogan Nonpartisan www.devinforparks.com
8/1/2017
Jonathan Honerbrink Nonpartisan JonathanforMinneapolis.com
8/14/2017
Bob Sullentrop Nonpartisan www.bobsullentropforparkboard.com
8/4/2017
Latrisha Vetaw Nonpartisan
8/14/2017
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner District 1 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Mohamed Issa Barre Nonpartisan
8/1/2017
Billy Menz Nonpartisan menz4parkboard.com
8/1/2017
Chris Meyer Nonpartisan meyerforparks.org
8/15/2017
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner District 2 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Kale Severson Nonpartisan WWW.VOTEKALE.ORG
8/14/2017
Mike Talley Tate Nonpartisan coachmiketate4mplspark.net
8/14/2017
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner District 3 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Charles Exner Nonpartisan betterparks.net
8/1/2017
AK Hassan Nonpartisan akhassan.com
8/1/2017
Abdi Gurhan Mohamed Nonpartisan
8/3/2017
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner District 4 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Jono Cowgill Nonpartisan jono4parks.org
8/7/2017
Tom Nordyke Nonpartisan
8/15/2017
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner District 5 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Andrea Fahrenkrug Nonpartisan fahrenkrugformplsparks.com
8/15/2017
Steffanie Musich Nonpartisan www.musichforparks.com
8/14/2017
Bill Shroyer Nonpartisan billshroyer.com
8/4/2017
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner District 6 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Brad Bourn Nonpartisan www.bradbournforparks.org
8/4/2017
Bob Fine Nonpartisan
8/9/2017
Robert M Schlosser "Bob" Nonpartisan
8/15/2017
Jennifer Zielinski Nonpartisan
8/4/2017