Candidate Filings

2021 Municipal and School District Elections

Candidates for offices elected at the November 2, 2021 Municipal and School District General Elections
can be found using this candidate finder.

Candidate names are added during or after the filing period for local offices:
Offices in cities and school districts that hold primaries - Tuesday, May 18 through Tuesday, June 1
Other municipal and school district offices - Tuesday, July 27 through Tuesday, August 10

Contact your local clerk for the correct filing period for your municipality or school district.

Return to Secretary of State's Elections & Voting website

 
Home
Candidates Search Results
Aurora
Mayor (Aurora)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Douglas Gregor Nonpartisan
7/27/2021
 
 
Council Member (Aurora) (Elect 2)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Tyler Lehto Nonpartisan
8/10/2021
Dave Worshek Nonpartisan
8/2/2021
 
 
 
Bloomington
Council Member at Large (Bloomington)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Nathan Coulter Nonpartisan www.neighborsfornathan.com
7/27/2021
Paul King Nonpartisan PaulKingforCityCouncil.com
7/29/2021
Ricardo Oliva Nonpartisan olivacitycouncil.com
7/27/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 3 (Bloomington)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
David Clark Nonpartisan davidclarkforcitycouncil.com
8/4/2021
Lona Dallessandro Nonpartisan https://www.voteforlona.com
7/27/2021
Kevin Heinen Nonpartisan
8/2/2021
Laura Hunt Nonpartisan
8/9/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 4 (Bloomington)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Angella M. Coil Nonpartisan
8/2/2021
Patrick Martin Nonpartisan PatrickForBloomington.com
7/27/2021
Victor Rivas Nonpartisan victorrivasforcouncil.nationbuilder.com
7/27/2021
Becky Strohmeier Nonpartisan
8/10/2021
 
 
 
Circle Pines
Mayor (Circle Pines)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Dave Bartholomay Nonpartisan
7/27/2021
 
 
Council Member (Circle Pines) (Elect 2)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Dean Goldberg Nonpartisan
7/27/2021
Jennifer Rauner Nonpartisan
7/27/2021
 
 
 
Duluth
Council Member at Large (Duluth) (Elect 2)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Azrin Awal Nonpartisan voteazrin.com
6/1/2021
Ashlie Castaldo Nonpartisan
6/7/2021
Dezuwon "Pez" Davila Nonpartisan
6/1/2021
Scot Jenkins Nonpartisan
6/14/2021
Joe Macor Nonpartisan www.joemacor.com
6/8/2021
Timothy L. Meyer Nonpartisan www.meyergroupduluth.com
6/4/2021
Nancy Stam Nonpartisan
6/1/2021
Terese Tomanek Nonpartisan tereseforDuluth.com
6/1/2021
 
 
Council Member District 2 (Duluth)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Andrew Hilfers Nonpartisan
6/4/2021
Andrew C Jarocki Nonpartisan andrewforduluth.com
6/10/2021
Mike Mayou Nonpartisan Mayouduluth.org
6/1/2021
Dave Zbaracki Nonpartisan
6/8/2021
 
 
Council Member District 4 (Duluth)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Howie Hanson Nonpartisan facebook.com/HowieHanson
6/1/2021
Nathaniel Rankin Nonpartisan
6/1/2021
Renee K Van Nett Nonpartisan reneevannett.com
6/1/2021
 
 
 
Ely
Special Election for Mayor (Ely)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Heidi K. Omerza Nonpartisan
7/29/2021
Roger J. Skraba Nonpartisan
7/29/2021
 
 
 
Falcon Heights
Council Member at Large (Falcon Heights) (Elect 2)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Michael Arcand Nonpartisan arcandforfhcouncil.com
8/10/2021
Melanie Leehy Nonpartisan https://www.facebook.com/MelanieLeehy4u
8/2/2021
Sue Majerus Nonpartisan https://votemajerus.org
8/9/2021
Eric Meyer Nonpartisan http://voteericmeyer.com
8/3/2021
Nicole Porter Nonpartisan nicoleporter.com
8/6/2021
 
 
 
Golden Valley
Council Member (Golden Valley) (Elect 2)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Loretta Arradondo Nonpartisan
8/10/2021
Joanie Clausen Nonpartisan clausen4council.com
7/27/2021
Andy Johnson Nonpartisan www.andyjohnsongv.com
7/27/2021
Denise La Mere-Anderson Nonpartisan deniseforgv.com
7/27/2021
Drew Peterson Nonpartisan
7/27/2021
Gillian Rosenquist Nonpartisan gillianrosenquist.com
7/27/2021
Orville Christian Satter Nonpartisan
8/6/2021
 
 
 
Hopkins
Mayor (Hopkins)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Jason Gadd Nonpartisan JasonGadd.com
7/27/2021
Patrick Hanlon Nonpartisan HanlonforHopkins.com
7/27/2021
Samuel O Stiele Nonpartisan www.stieleformayor.com
8/10/2021
 
 
Council Member (Hopkins) (Elect 2)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Gerard Balan Nonpartisan betterwithbalan.com
7/27/2021
Heidi Garrido Nonpartisan www.heidigarrido.com
8/6/2021
Ben Goodlund Nonpartisan good4hopkins.com
8/10/2021
Kristi Halverson Nonpartisan
8/5/2021
 
 
 
Independence
Council Member (Independence) (Elect 2)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Linda Betts Nonpartisan
8/5/2021
Margie Ritter Nonpartisan
8/10/2021
Brad Lee Spencer Nonpartisan
8/3/2021
 
 
 
Lino Lakes
Mayor (Lino Lakes)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Rob Rafferty Nonpartisan
7/27/2021
 
 
Council Member (Lino Lakes) (Elect 2)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Tony Cavegn Nonpartisan
8/6/2021
Teresa O'Connell Nonpartisan
8/9/2021
Dale Stoesz Nonpartisan www.stoesz.com
7/30/2021
 
 
 
Lonsdale
Mayor (Lonsdale)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Tom Rud Nonpartisan
10/7/2021
 
 
Council Member (Lonsdale)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Scott Pelava Nonpartisan
10/7/2021
David Webb Nonpartisan
10/7/2021
 
 
 
Mahtomedi
Council Member at Large (Mahtomedi) (Elect 2)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Jeff Charlesworth Nonpartisan
7/27/2021
Lilly Melander Nonpartisan
8/10/2021
Luke Schlegel Nonpartisan
7/28/2021
 
 
 
Minneapolis
Mayor (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Nate "Honey Badger" Atkins Libertarian Party www.honeybadgerformayor.com
8/6/2021
AJ Awed Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.awed4mayor.org
8/9/2021
Troy Benjegerdes Farmer-Labor mayortroy.com
8/9/2021
Bob "Again" Carney Jr Republican www.votebobagain.com
7/27/2021
Clint Conner Democratic-Farmer-Labor clintconner2021.com
8/9/2021
Christopher W David Democratic-Farmer-Labor Nobsmpls.com
7/27/2021
Jacob Frey Democratic-Farmer-Labor jacobfrey.org
8/4/2021
Mark Globus Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.GlobusForMayor.com
7/28/2021
Marcus Harcus Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis www.marcusharcus.com
8/10/2021
Perry, Jerrell For The People http://www.perry4thepeople.com
8/10/2021
Paul E. Johnson Equity in Motion paul4mpls.com
8/6/2021
Kate Knuth Democratic-Farmer-Labor kateformpls.org
8/9/2021
Doug Nelson Socialist Workers Party www.themilitant.com
8/4/2021
Sheila Nezhad Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.sheilaforthepeople.com
7/27/2021
Laverne Turner Republican turnerroundmpls.com
8/2/2021
Kevin "No Body" Ward Independent facebook.com/kdzl4shzl
8/10/2021
Mike Winter Independence-Alliance mike4mpls.com
7/27/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 1 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Calvin L Carpenter Veteran’s Party
8/3/2021
Elliott Payne Democratic-Farmer-Labor elliottpayne.org
7/27/2021
Kevin Reich Democratic-Farmer-Labor kevinreich.org
7/28/2021
Thomas E Wortman Democratic-Farmer-Labor
8/10/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 2 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Tom Anderson Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.reimaginempls.com
7/30/2021
Yusra Arab Democratic-Farmer-Labor yusraarab.com
7/27/2021
Guy T Gaskin Republican guytgaskin.net
8/10/2021
Cam Gordon Green Party camgordon.org
8/6/2021
Robin Wonsley Worlobah Democratic Socialist
7/28/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 3 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Steve Fletcher Democratic-Farmer-Labor stevefletcher.org
8/6/2021
Hope Hennessey Independent hope4council.org
8/10/2021
Merv Moorhead Democratic-Farmer-Labor mervforward3.com
8/6/2021
Michael Rainville Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.rainvilleward3.org
7/29/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 4 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Phillipe M. Cunningham Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.CunninghamMPLS.com
7/28/2021
Leslie Davis We The People lesliedavis.org
8/9/2021
LaTrisha Vetaw Democratic-Farmer-Labor latrishaforward4.com
8/5/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 5 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Jeremiah Ellison Democratic-Farmer-Labor jeremiahforward5.com
8/3/2021
Suleiman Isse Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.electisse.com
8/6/2021
Victor Martinez Democratic-Farmer-Labor victor4citycouncil.com
7/27/2021
Elijah Norris-Holliday Independent www.e-45.com
8/10/2021
Kristel Porter Democratic-Farmer-Labor northsidersforkristel.org
8/9/2021
James "Jim" Seymour Witness
8/10/2021
Cathy Spann Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.cathyspannforward5.com
8/9/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 6 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
A. Bihi Democratic-Farmer-Labor
7/27/2021
Jamal Osman Democratic-Farmer-Labor https://www.jamalosman.org/
7/27/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 7 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Joanna Diaz Democratic-Farmer-Labor
8/10/2021
Lisa Goodman Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.friendsforlisa.com
8/2/2021
Nick Kor Democratic-Farmer-Labor nickkor.com
8/6/2021
Teqen Zéa-Aida Democratic-Farmer-Labor teqenwardseven.com
8/10/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 8 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Andrea Jenkins Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.andrea-jenkins.com
7/27/2021
Robert "Bob" Sullentrop Republican bobsullentropforcouncil.com
8/3/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 9 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Jason Chavez Democratic-Farmer-Labor jasonchavez.org
8/10/2021
Jon Randall Denison Social Justice
8/10/2021
Alfred "AJ" Flowers Jr. Democratic-Farmer-Labor ajforward9.com
8/10/2021
Yussuf Haji Democratic-Farmer-Labor hajiforward9.com
7/30/2021
Carmen Means Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.carmenforward9.com
8/10/2021
Mickey Moore Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.weneedmoore.org
7/30/2021
Brenda Short Democratic-Farmer-Labor brendashort4ward9.com
8/2/2021
Ross Tenneson Republican
8/3/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 10 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Aisha Chughtai Democratic-Farmer-Labor aishaforward10.com
8/10/2021
Alicia Gibson Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.votealiciagibson.com
8/4/2021
Katie Jones Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.KatieforWard10.org
7/30/2021
Ubah Nur Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.ubahforward10.com
7/30/2021
Chris Parsons Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.chrisforward10.com
7/29/2021
David Wheeler Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.wheeler4ward10.com
7/27/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 11 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Kurt Michael Anderson independent kurtmichaelanderson2021.org
8/10/2021
Dillon Gherna Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.dgmpls.com
7/27/2021
Emily Koski Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.emilykoskiformpls.com
7/27/2021
Albert T. Ross Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.albertross.org
8/10/2021
Jeremy Schroeder Democratic-Farmer-Labor jeremyschroeder.org
7/29/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 12 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Nancy Ford No Political Party or Principle nancyfordmn.com
8/6/2021
Andrew Johnson Democratic-Farmer-Labor andrewmpls.com
7/27/2021
David Rosenfeld Socialist Workers Party www.themilitant.com
8/4/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 13 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Kati Medford Green Party www.katiforward13.com
8/9/2021
Mike Norton Democratic-Farmer-Labor mikenorton.org
8/6/2021
Linea Palmisano Democratic-Farmer-Labor www.lineapalmisano.org
7/27/2021
Bob Reuer Independent https://bobreuer4ward13.com/
7/27/2021
Ken Salway Republican voteforken.org
8/10/2021
 
 
Board of Estimate and Taxation (Minneapolis) (Elect 2)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Steve Brandt Nonpartisan www.brandtforBET.com
8/4/2021
Kevin Nikiforakis Nonpartisan
8/4/2021
Samantha "Sam" Pree-Stinson Nonpartisan www.samforbet.com
7/29/2021
Pine Salica Nonpartisan pinefor.bet
8/10/2021
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner at Large (Minneapolis) (Elect 3)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Meg Forney Nonpartisan megforney.org
7/27/2021
Londel French Nonpartisan
8/10/2021
Katherine Kelly Nonpartisan katherinekelly.org
8/6/2021
Mary McKelvey Nonpartisan maryforparks.org
8/6/2021
Tom Olsen Nonpartisan olsenforparks.org
8/9/2021
Charles Rucker Nonpartisan
8/5/2021
Alicia D. Smith Nonpartisan www.aliciaforparks.com
7/27/2021
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner District 1 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Billy Menz Nonpartisan billymenz.com
7/27/2021
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner District 2 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Eric Moran Nonpartisan https://ericforparks.org
7/27/2021
Mike Shelton Nonpartisan
8/5/2021
Becka Thompson Nonpartisan becka4thecity.com
8/6/2021
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner District 3 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Becky Alper Nonpartisan www.beckyforparks.org
8/4/2021
AK Hassan Nonpartisan akhassan.com
7/28/2021
Mohamoud Hassan Nonpartisan
8/2/2021
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner District 4 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Jono Cowgill Nonpartisan jonocowgill.org
8/3/2021
Elizabeth Shaffer Nonpartisan elizabethforparks.org
7/27/2021
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner District 5 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Justin Cermak Nonpartisan https://www.instagram.com/cermak_4_parks/
7/27/2021
Steffanie Musich Nonpartisan www.musichforparks.com
7/27/2021
Charles Rodgers Nonpartisan
7/30/2021
 
 
Park and Recreation Commissioner District 6 (Minneapolis)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Cathy Abene Nonpartisan www.cathyabene.com
7/27/2021
Bob Fine Nonpartisan www.fineforparks.com
7/27/2021
Risa Hustad Nonpartisan risaforparks.com
7/30/2021
Barb Schlaefer Nonpartisan www.schlaeferforparks.com
7/27/2021
 
 
 
Minnetonka
Mayor (Minnetonka)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
John Kuhl Nonpartisan www.johnkuhl.com
8/2/2021
Brad Wiersum Nonpartisan bradwiersum.com
7/27/2021
 
 
Council Member Seat A (Minnetonka)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Karen Ahlbrecht Nonpartisan www.votekarenahlbrecht.com
8/10/2021
Deb Calvert Nonpartisan debcalvert.org
7/27/2021
Marshall Glynn Nonpartisan votemarshallglynn.com
8/10/2021
Iola Kostrzewski Nonpartisan iola4minnetonkacouncil.com
8/9/2021
Wyn Ray Nonpartisan votewynray.com
8/10/2021
 
 
Council Member Seat B (Minnetonka)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Stacy Cranbrook Nonpartisan votestacycranbrook.com
8/10/2021
Jim Hadley Nonpartisan
8/10/2021
Daniel Kral Nonpartisan www.votedankral.com
8/10/2021
Ash Patel Nonpartisan
8/9/2021
Kimberly Wilburn Nonpartisan KimberlyCaresMN.com
7/29/2021
 
 
 
Onamia
Special Election for Council Member (Onamia)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Sandra Nelson Nonpartisan
6/21/2021
 
 
 
Rock Creek
Special Election for Council Member (Rock Creek)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Sam Christenson Nonpartisan
6/3/2021
Steve Olson Nonpartisan
6/10/2021
Keith Potter Nonpartisan
6/4/2021
 
 
 
St. Anthony
Council Member (St. Anthony) (Elect 2)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Jan J Jenson Nonpartisan
7/27/2021
Ayesha Lynn Khan Nonpartisan vote4ayesha.com
8/10/2021
Thomas Kuykendall Nonpartisan www.kuykendallforcouncil.com
8/3/2021
Wendy Webster Nonpartisan
8/2/2021
 
 
 
St Louis Park
Council Member Ward 1 (St Louis Park)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Margaret Rog Nonpartisan www.rogforslp.com
8/9/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 2 (St Louis Park)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Lynette Lungay Dumalag Nonpartisan www.lynetteforslp.com
7/30/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 3 (St Louis Park)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Sue Budd Nonpartisan www.suebuddforslp.com
8/10/2021
Saul Eugene Nonpartisan www.saulforslp.com
8/6/2021
Jim Leuthner Nonpartisan electjimleuthner.com
8/4/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 4 (St Louis Park)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Tim Brausen Nonpartisan timbrausenforcouncil.com
8/9/2021
 
 
 
St. Paul
Mayor (St. Paul)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Melvin Carter Nonpartisan www.melvincarter.org
7/27/2021
Scott Evans Wergin Nonpartisan
7/27/2021
Miki Frost Nonpartisan mikifrostformayor.com
8/10/2021
Dino Guerin Nonpartisan www.dinoformayor.com
8/10/2021
Bill Hosko Nonpartisan BILLHOSKO.ORG
7/27/2021
Dora Jones-Robinson Nonpartisan www.dorajonesrobinson.org
7/27/2021
Paul Langenfeld Nonpartisan www.PaulforStPaul.com
7/27/2021
Abu Nayeem Nonpartisan www.abunayeem.com
8/10/2021
 
 
 
St. Paul Park
Council Member at Large (St. Paul Park) (Elect 2)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Patrick J. Downs Nonpartisan
7/29/2021
Swenson Jeff Nonpartisan
8/10/2021
Sharon Ornquist Nonpartisan
8/10/2021
Bruce Zenner Nonpartisan
8/11/2021
 
 
Special Election for Council Member at Large (St. Paul Park)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Tanya Foote Nonpartisan TanyaFoote2003@yahoo.com
8/10/2021
Jeff Haggerty Nonpartisan
7/29/2021
 
 
 
St. Peter
Mayor (St. Peter)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Ed Johnson Nonpartisan
8/9/2021
Shanon Nowell Nonpartisan www.shanonnowell.com
7/27/2021
Chuck Zieman Nonpartisan
8/10/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 1 (St. Peter) (Elect 2)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Remo Alexandri Nonpartisan https://www.facebook.com/voteremoalexandri
7/29/2021
Roger Parras Nonpartisan
8/10/2021
Darrell Pettis Nonpartisan
8/10/2021
Ben Ranft Nonpartisan
7/27/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 2 (St. Peter)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
David B. McGuire Nonpartisan
7/27/2021
Jo Ellen Peters Nonpartisan
8/10/2021
Dustin Sharstrom Nonpartisan
7/29/2021
 
 
 
White Twp
Town Supervisor Seat C (White Township)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Craig "Antti" Anttila Nonpartisan
7/27/2021
Steven G Peterson Sr Nonpartisan
7/27/2021
 
 
 
White Bear Lake
Mayor (White Bear Lake)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Dan Louismet Nonpartisan
6/1/2021
Don Mullin Nonpartisan
5/18/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 2 (White Bear Lake)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Douglas Biehn Nonpartisan
5/18/2021
Heidi Hughes Nonpartisan
5/18/2021
 
 
Council Member Ward 4 (White Bear Lake)
Candidate Name Party Website File Date
Kevin L. Edberg Nonpartisan
5/20/2021